About AIC Tasmania

AIC Tasmania is one of six State Divisions of the Australian Institute of Conveyancers. The other Divisions are in New South Wales, Northern Territory, South Australia, Victoria and Western Australia.

The Conveyancing Act was passed by the Tasmanian Government in 2004. It was not until 2006 that the first exams were held statewide Which resulted in 3 licences being issued. After the second exam was held there was 10 Licensed Conveyancers of which two were former Legal practitioners who chose to relinquish their Legal Practising Certificates.

The AIC Tasmania Division was established following the AGM of the AIC (National) in October, 2008. The initial members were Helen Kent (President), Sharni Richardson (Vice-President), Barry Sproal (Secretary), Rowena Duffy (Treasurer) and Graham Woodhouse.

The current Tasmanian council consists of Erin Sims (President & AIC National Alternate Council Representative), Kate Goodman (Vice President), Debbie Hutton (Secretary & AIC National Council Representative) and Helen Kent (Treasurer).


AIC Tasmania offers three levels of membership

  • Full member (licensed)
  • Associate member (qualified but not licensed)
  • Affiliate member (neither qualified nor licensed but interested in the industry)

To apply for membership of the AIC Tasmania Division, please download the Membership Application Form

© Copyright Australian Institute of Conveyancers - Tasmania